OLDUVAI GORGE IN TANZANIA

Another interest in my quest to understand the world around us, has been the work of paleo archaeologists over the last hundred years. The work of Louis and Mary Leakey as they excavated Olduvai Gorge in Tanzania in the late 1950’s was ground breaking in trying to understand how man fit into the evolution of primates. At about this time, another bit of synchronicity occurred.

Out of the blue I had an African man as a patient. He was from Kenya and had been to Olduvai Gorge. As I explained my project to him, he laid it on the line for me. It was obvious I was going to have to travel to Africa and go to Olduvai if I was going to write about it. Immediately I knew he was right. The setting for the book was going to have to be located in and around Olduvai Gorge. So there it was, I had main characters, location, and a philosophical backbone. Like ingredients for a soup, it was time to put it all together for the most important part of any book; the plot. For months I meditated, contemplated, cogitated for clues of how to put it all together, when finally it came to me. In the middle of the night, I woke up out of a sound sleep with the perfect story and the puzzle came together. Alec would be a scientist, a paleo archaeologists in the mold of a young Louis Leakey that would be part of an expedition that would be exploring Olduvai for new fossils, while Sarah would come from a liberal background, a writer hired to document the dig. It was too perfect, like a key fitting into its lock. The staunch “cause and effect” scientist and the beautiful humanitarian, opposites who would have to work through their past baggage to find true love in an amazing exotic local. I was so excited, I couldn’t sleep.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

